The Real Deal

Have You Ever Wondered... Is that certain book really good? Does that product really work? So have I. From Indie authors and musicians to local products or nationally advertised, I can't tell you the countless products I've bought as seen on TV only to find out that they don't work at my house, the book was really a bunch of hype, the music was not what I had hoped for or a movie was a yawn. If you want an honest opinion, you will find it here. Although I do lots of book reviews, I also check out lots of other products and let you know if they really live up to their ads or their hype. Stay tuned, and check in often. You never know what I'm going to talk about next.

29.12.11

Tomboy :Painful

I had high hopes as I began reading Tomboy by Thomas Meinecke. I'd set the book aside, waiting to wrap up  projects for which I would reward myself with an enjoyable read. I prepared myself for a novel, light banter, light reading, and an adventure of some sort, presumably about four Tomboys.

What I read for the first 21 pages was difficult, due to continuous breaks in thought with interjections and sentences that were more often than not, far too long.  At page 24, I thought “When does this start getting interesting?” About the time I thought I was in the flow, I wasn't. To many interjections. 
Although I'm an avid reader, this book reads more like a telephone monologue, inside someone one else’s head, namely Vivian Atkinson. 
It takes place in Germany, which would be important for some readers to know at the outset. I have no problem with regional books, but the teaser mentions nothing about time frame or location. It's a big deal if you aren't into German literature, or translations of same. I quite honestly felt that I had been kidnapped and held hostage. The book is slightly dated, again, not a real issue for me usually, except that the American icons referenced, are not as “hip” as they once were, which made me wonder how relevant the author’s German references were as well.

On the whole, I was disappointed with the book, although it may well be considered brilliant by some, if you were expecting a punk rock band and discovered you were actually going to classical opera...
I didn’t find it engaging enough, and without one shred of actual dialog, this book appeared to be more of a text book aspiring to be a novel. It’s was like plowing through cement.
I will not recommend it as it stands. I’ll wait for the movie.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

22.12.11

Long on Performance, Short on Taste


I placed a heaping scoop of Muscletech Neurocore, Fruit Punch flavor, in cold water in a bottle and shook the bottle but I noticed it didn’t readily dissolve. Also the flavor reminded me of orange flavored baby aspirin with a bitter aftertaste. Even premixing it didn’t seem to prevent that grittiness in the last few gulps.
The pale mauve color didn’t bother me, I prefer less dye in my drinks anyway. I’m looking at mixing it with something else to mask it.
It delivered the focus and energy boost I was looking for in my work out routine, I had been struggling to stay up with a dance work out that I like and this helped me get through the entire thing. I liked the slow fade of the drink as opposed to the cliff drop of some when they wear off. I would recommend this product on performance but not on taste. 

20.12.11

Amy Kathleen Ryan: GLOW

I listened to Glow, by author Amy Kathleen Ryan and was slowly pulled into the story enough to listen to the book for a period of time. I enjoy stories that take place out in space but found the book easy to set aside and sometimes forget about it for a while. I was able to pick up the story easily enough but, did not easily connect to the characters. However, by the time the main female character Waverly had decided to act, I was totally behind her.
I think if I had been on a trip and listened to the book more intentionally,  I would have been through it sooner, as the idea of a shipful of young people populating a planet is an fascinating premise. Since this is the first installment, these could each be more interesting as they become available.
Ryan’s style of writing was clear and concise and well-paced, the narration by Ilyana Kadushin and Matthew Brown made the book easy to follow. Although I am not fond of men reading the lead female (or vice versa) this didn’t hinder the story in anyway.  I think this story line would appeal to young adults interested in fantasy fiction or sci-fi. Even though generally it isn’t my strongest interest, I would like to see where Ryan takes this series.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

13.12.11

Laughing With Ali in Wonderland

Ali in Wonderland is a refreshing vat of humor. Ali Wentworth's unconventional memoir filled with witty insights had me cracking up at her self-deprecating tales. She is not shy with the details whether telling about child birth (There’s No Uterus Like My Uterus) or childhood illness (I Don’t Get Vacation). I couldn’t stop smiling as I read this, and remembered well some of my own awkward teen moments (Happy and Preppy and Bursting with Love). Ali takes the mundane and turns it into amusement.
If you want to while away the evening reading a book with lots of laughs, you’re in for a treat.

8.12.11

MiO Mango Peach

I am pretty much in denial that summer is over, if the sun shines and it feels the least bit balmy. I can over look the naked trees and on a really good day, even the snow. Even though I got this when the trees were completely exfoliated, the Mango Peach  flavor is a flashback to hot summer days.
MiO liquid water enhancer tastes clean, sweet and delicious with no calories and no aftertaste. To use, just flip it, tip it then sip it. When you have the taste where you want it, two clicks closes the handy little container no bigger that would fit easily in a pocket, purse or lunch box.  You make it as strong or as light as you like. Using  ½ a teaspoon  to eight ounces of water, as a rule of thumb, this little bottle packs in 24 servings of yummy goodness. The color is a pleasing rich orange and, if you happen to be observant,  is Kosher. This product doesn’t need refrigeration after opening which means you can take it with you anywhere, or leave in your desk at work when you need a splash of something tasty.
Soon we’ll be into the slimming season, and if you’re one who likes fruit flavored sports drinks, you will definitely enjoy this blend.

5.12.11

Explosions in the Sky

My awesome kid turned me on to this group while we on our road trip in the late summer of last year. I love music without words, mainly because the tunes evoke a feeling that I can write to. there's none of that distracting thought that comes with listening to words, when I'm trying to come up with my own.

Oddly enough, I had heard of this group at a former job, when I simultaneously joined Pandora. They've scored the music for television shows and films. I really started getting into them after our vacation because they were so easy to listen to while writing.

If you haven't heard of them, check them out here: Explosions in the Sky or here: Explosions in the Sky on Amazon.

15.11.11

The Boring Puppy Diaries

If it’s true that diaries are supposed to be some interesting reading, then you may be disappointed with The Puppy Diaries by best-selling and award-winning author Jill Abramson.  I like dogs, I’ve had dogs as pets. But never did I think their daily life was worth filling an entire book. It was all I could do to get through to the end, so much of it was bogged down in the well-told but tedious detail that seemed to just be filling space between semi interesting events. Interestingly the narrator sounds a bit like a very bored Sigourney Weaver.
I could relate to the stress of having pets that are ill, not feeling well and pass from our lives. But what I could not relate to was the tone of the book. It could be a good read if you are totally immersed in dog culture, live breathe and pursue all things dog. I have never had a Golden Retriever (or a Westie for that matter) nor will I after listening to this tale, nor did I moon over those who breed them or who whisper to dogs.
 In her defense, Jill writes from personal perspective, having invested her heart and pocket book in her own pets. She has clearly done her homework and a great deal of research. This book might be considered a friendly sort of instruction manual. But for me, it sounds all too much like one long winded book report that was, at times, dull as the finish on a chalkboard. I will not recommend this book to anyone.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

10.11.11

Escape into SLAMMER

When I got my copy of Slammer by Allan Guthrie, I couldn’t wait to begin reading it just before going off to bed one evening. I got comfy  and figured on reading one chapter to whet my appetite, then suddenly found myself on page 85 and up way past my bedtime.

Nick Glass is a new young prison guard that finds himself cooperating with the inmates in ways he never imagined. What it gives him in exchange for what it costs him will keep you guessing every step of the way. Slammer is a first class ticket to heart pounding entertainment.
The slight differences in language, due to Guthrie being a UK writer, were interesting and easily explained, so that the reader always felt connected to the action. His masterful ability to draw me into the world of Nick Glass captured my imagination so completely, that I could barely put the book down to get rest. Once I began it, I made time to keep reading until I found out what happened.  Although a bit gruesome in parts, he wasted no words in gratuitous descriptions.

Although Guthrie might be new to American readers, he has quite a few titles to his credit and I for one, intend to read more of them. If you like psychological thrillers, this is absolutely a must read.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

3.11.11

Your Back Up Plan

You're out on the freeway in the middle of traffic that has barely crawled forward three feet in the last thirty minutes, you're running late as it and you want to call ahead. You go to make a call and discover your power sucking phone with all the cool touch features is as dead as an unplugged television set.
Now what are you going to do?
Or, you're stuck at an airport and discover there will be an unscheduled extension of your layover and your digital reader just flatlined. There isn't an electrical outlet available to recharge. What's your back up plan?

One possibility is the Aluratek Portable Battery Charger.
The charger comes with a cable and five universal charging tips, for Ipad/Ipad2 Apple iPhone 4, 4G 3Gs 3G (AT&T and Verizon), iPod Touch (1G 2G 3G 4G), Motorola Droid, HTC Android EVO, Blackberry, Kindle DX, Samsung EPIC, Samsung Galaxy Tablet, Samsung Galaxy S.
It also has an auto shut off feature, is light, portable and a high capacity Lithium Ion battery.
Also a plus: if your phone or sound device uses a USB cable to charge up, you can plug it into the Aluratek and it charges beautifully.The flat, compact design slips easily into a purse, pocket or backpack. While it does come with adapters, it does not come with any kind of case in which to hold them. It charged a completely dead cell phone and still had juice to spare.
Three blue LED lights let you get a read on how much power is left. I liked that this could be charged from a USB port, like say, your work computer, so you never have to be left power-less when you need it most. As the saying goes: don't leave home with out it.

27.10.11

Bodum 15 oz. Pavina Glasses

The Bodum 15 oz. Pavina glasses come in a box set of two.. The vibrant red silicone sleeve doesn't insulate what's in your glass, but gives a nice firm grip despite condensation. The shape of the glass fits pleasantly in the hand even when full. I'm not crazy about the silicone banding, because I like seeing what I'm drinking in a glass and this blocks quite a lot of the view. Because of the silicone sleeve, I can make hot drinks in it, like chai, and don't burn my hand. From an aesthetic point of view, also come in different colors and are lovely to look at.

23.10.11

Gourmantra Meals

I love Indian food, the flavors are as complex as a good Russian novel, but it’s proven time consuming to make from scratch. It was thrilling to find kits for making authentic Indian food in under an hour.
I made some Friday night--as a sort of relaxation therapy after a brutal week--while having a glass of wine. The directions were easy to read and follow (as long as someone isn’t using your belly button for a wine glass; I saw that in a movie once).
The kits contain everything I need and list the necessary additional ingredients After I tried the first box, I was glad I bought two kits. Now I want to hunt up that movie…
But, that got me all fired up about cooking this weekend too.
So, I will show you how to simultaneously make Southwestern, Asian and Mediterranean food beginning with…
To see more about cooking click here:  http://theradicalwrite.blogspot.com/2011/10/weekend-cook.html

20.10.11

The Clifton Chronicles: Only Time Will Tell.

Only Time Will Tell by Jeffrey Archer was difficult for me to get into. It took me a long time to feel a connection any of the characters but eventually warmed up to Harry Clifton and Old Jack. Although this was not a straight up historical novel, there were historically significant events. Being largely unfamiliar with England's rich history, though not some of its iconographic leadership, I found it insightful.
By disc two, the story became more interesting, (the whole novel is ten discs) and because I am used to faster paced novels, I found it was too easy for me to stop reading and forget that I was in the middle of this one.
I enjoyed the mix of characters and the stories of their lives. It added to the story that was read by male and female narrators who deepened character personalities with the use of various voices and inflections, and even the telling of the same events from different perspectives.
The closer I came to the conclusion, the more thrilling it became to see how it all turned out. The ending does not really conclude the story which easily leads into a series called the Clifton Chronicles (mentioned by the author in the interview on the last disc). If you enjoy well written stories about England, this would be right up your alley. I do not particularly favor them, but this one was extremely well done.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

13.10.11

Can You Take the Heat?

When I closed my review about the Bold & Creamy Jalapeno Sauce from Taco Bell, I said that I thought they could really kick it up a notch. I didn’t know about Bold and Creamy Spicy Ranchero. The heat lingers just a  bit longer in the mouth than the Jalapeno and Chipotle sauces. It never becomes too intense or makes you regret putting a little extra on your tacos, or wraps. Rest assured, that if you run out they will just make more. So go ahead, be bold, put on a little extra. Your taste buds with thank you and your stomach won’t regret it.
This pale orange sauce is about the color of good Thousand Island Dressing. But trust me when I tell you, if you put this on someone’s salad by mistake, they are going to sit up and take notice. It’s the right combination of spicy and creamy and a bottle of this stuff doesn’t last long at my house. It goes on our breakfast wraps in the morning and I am always dreaming up new ways to use it. If you like spicy you definitely want to give this one a try. 

11.10.11

Heat Up Your Fall!

It’s no secret that I like spicy food. When I reviewed Taco Bell’s Home Originals Bold & Creamy Jalapeno Sauce a little while back, I noticed two little words on the label that really got me hopeful: Home Originals. Will there be more flavors in this line?
Yes! Bold and Creamy Chipotle sauce is even more flavorful. Chipotle peppers are fiery chili pepper made by smoking jalapeno peppers. The smokiness adds a depth that’s just hard to beat. If you like creamy hot sauces, you will love this on all those fall meals: tail gate parties, hot dogs, fries, rice and grilled veggies. It's zippy with out being overwhelming and tasty without being  tongue numbing. As always, it's great on all you Mexican food faves. I know this will be a stock item in my fridge.
click here to order

1.10.11

How Strong is Your Protection?

Being on the web without antivirus protection, is like a boy making love
to his girlfriend without contraception and hoping she doesn’t get pregnant.
There are a lots of programs to choose from, and if you’re like most people, you want a good value for your hard-earned money.
You also might want to use something that isn’t always reminding you it’s there, with annoying pop up windows, daily alerts and usage messages. All I really want is safe passage while I surf the web with out needless software distractions. Something that won’t bog down my computer, and doesn’t get in the way. But you also want a name that’s been tried and true, or at least has a good reputation. And I feel I found that value and reputation in Trend Micro Titanium. The 2012 version is just now hitting the shelves.
I first installed the program on a computer at work and it got conflicted with the primary program that we use there. It slowed the computer down and my boss requested that I remove it.
I was not dissuaded from using it on my personal net book at home. You may wonder how I got the disc to load on a net book without a CD driver. It’s easy. Go to their site, and start the download. When the window pops open asking you what version you are down loading, say paid and type in the key code on you disc. I had it installed and ready to run in under three minutes.
With the maximum-security protection, you can extend your protection to smart phones and tablets, including Android devices. It came with a disc for a Mac and a pc (I don’t have a Mac) with a Quick Start Guide and a 30-day money back guarantee.
I used my net book with out any hassles, and no more usage popup screens. It ran easily on my net book and didn’t slow anything up in the least. Although I’ve only been using a few weeks I utilize lots of wi-fi hotspots and will be putting this program through the paces. So far, I am happy with it and would recommend it to my friends for their net books and PC’s.

29.9.11

Mocktail Hour? It's Appletini Time!

I have been a fan of Crystal Light products for years. The mocktail line provides another tasty treat to delight your tastebuds.Everyone I shared it with thought it was delicious and made an impressive mocktail.
This vibrant green, pleasantly apple-flavored drink dissolves quickly and easily in water and can be ready to party in under five minutes. Once your friends try it you'll be lucky if a pitcher of it lasts that long.

27.9.11

Let This Pro Dryer Blow You Away

I was tired of my hairstyle and went to an expensive salon to get a new cut: Something fresh and hip. While the stylist cut, thinned and trimmed, she graciously explained to me how to get the most volume by using a blow dryer. A what? I gave up my hair styling practices when I moved to a climate that caused my hair to rebel. It lays on my head like 3 day old road kill.

Maybe, it was time to try again. That's when I saw Volume Boost, Infiniti Pro by Conair. I am not particularly patient, and with 1875 Watts of power, which for me, means quick-dry. Pro means without ruining it.
The handle was easy to grip and the dryer itself felt balanced in the hand. It seemed a little ungainly
At first, but with a little practice, it seemed pretty comfortable.
With in minutes, my hair is dry with enough body to keep me fantastic-looking through most of my workday. It's hot enough to dry thick or coarse hair, and gentle enough not to fry fine locks. The cold shot button took a few seconds to chill, but it worked. The dryer has two switches that control heat and airflow. It has something else: a removable filter. Which means that you can clean all that lint off the back of the unit and prevent premature burnout.
It comes with two attachments: one a volumizing pic with fingers and a shield for directed air flow to the roots where the hair must be dried (upside down is easiest) to give lift, and a concentrator for focused styling. I love it. It included an instruction and styling guide, and a four year warranty.
Little plusses: there's a soft plastic loop to hang the dryer, and a ground fault circuit interrupt plug with a reset button. The attachments lock in place and can be switched out or rotated with the pinch buttons on either side of the nozzle. It `s packed with good value and for the price, well made, sturdy and should last for many years to come.

17.9.11

Become a WORD HERO

Available on Amazon October 4th!  I originally had intended to keep this book on the down low, as my secret weapon. And after I and my words had become famous, gone viral or I was rolling in the deep, I would give a nod to Jay Heinrichs and his book WORD HERO and thank him for producing such a brilliant book that equipped me with an enormous advantage every time I sat down to write. Once I began reading it and studying the process, I knew I couldn’t keep it all to myself.
Jay breaks his guide into 5 parts: Word Apprentice, Word Novice, Word Artist, Word Wizard and Word Hero. Part one begins with relatively easy exercises, explanations and examples. Sound layers, word play and the invention of words. Inside you will find tons of tropes (and an explanation) stupendous similes and harmonic homonyms. From analogies to Yogisms, this book is a treasure trove of higher wisdom and esily learned tricks for those who love words.
 The lessons were thought provoking and refreshing. If you haven't been trained to think in this way, you might fine his exercises at the last part of each chapter fun, delivering unexpected results. With our writer’s retreat coming up. these chapters would be great writing prompts to jump start writing processes, or inspire on breaks.
I will be recommending WORD HERO to all my writing friends.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

13.9.11

An Unlikely Trio

When I was a little kid, I used to secretly think my dad was a spy. He tromped off every morning with a silver lunch pail for a place called work. It didn’t take me long to realize, my dad was just a working Joe trying to earn a living and support his ever growing family. Ian Morgan Cron’s title grabbed me right away.

 There are some memoirs that read like school book reports and are as dull and as 25 year old house paint, and then there are refreshing, literary chronicles like Cron’s. Imagine if Lee Child wrote a memoir with the bold-faced honesty of Marr Carr. His unique metaphors will be stolen by writers for years to come. He writes about his infatuation with the rituals of the Catholic Church so vividly, I could smell the incense, see the stained glass and feel my knees hurting.
He writes about the anguish of enduring his father’s alcoholism with biting clarity that will sear your eyes. Ian’s brilliant account is both tragic and insightful. A must-read for anyone trying to walk the razor-thin edge of faith and fate.




Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

6.9.11

Chique Secrets of Dolce Vita

“La vita e bella, life is beautiful and the most amazing wonders of this world often hide in the simplest things.” This opening sentence  neatly explains what Chique Secrets of Dolce Vita by Barbara Conelli, is about. As I read it, I felt as if I had wandered into the middle of a coffee break listening to a friend telling me the story of a strange, new, magical land. Every chapter presented little golden nuggets of where to go in the alluring fashion capital of Italy, Milan.   
This is a book written by a woman, for women who don’t mind having a companion around but aren’t afraid to fly solo. Barbara Conelli describes each town in vivid detail, with humor and passion. She describes towns and villages, drinks and dinners carefully casting you into an Italian story where you are the adventure tourist. Black and white illustrations punctuate each chapter, the style reminiscent of fashion designers.

Each chapter evokes images of the old country, the calm easy-going life style of Milanese women. The street cafes, the colorful, fragrant flowers, the savory meals sound enticing enough for me to think about an all girl vacation in Milan. The food she described made my mouth water and the tidbits of history gave each location a distinct and separate personality. The way she raves about the people, it sounds like she’s known them all her life. Barbara invites you to a feast for the senses, body, mind and soul.

Check in to this book if you want to have a sweet experience. She invites you to go where charming people are waiting to address your every need and pamper you with their offerings. Whether you’re into camping or dancing, galleries or bakeries, vineyards or yachting, Barbara Canelli  shares her secrets on a place of interest for you.

3.9.11

LIVE! From Your Computer to the World

Recently, a friend of mine asked me if I'd ever used Skype. At that point, I hadn't and didn't have much of an interest in being on camera. I think of myself as less than photogenic. My friend only lived across town, we could pick up the phone at any time. We didn't, and he isn't much on text messages either.

When I stumbled upon  LIVE! CAM, I thought, why not? The webcams on most computers and laptops are adequate for Skype, but I managed to get a laptop that didn't have one.  Truth is, I have relatives all over the country in different time zones and I rarely ever call any of them. LIVE! CAM came with a bit of software that allows users to easily share recorded videos on Facebook and YouTube all in HD quality.  Movie Creator, Touch Screen ready, and Visual/Voice affects, and you can create an avatar or add backgrounds to your video calls (I may surprise them with next time.)

If you have at least a dual-core processor, 2GB RAM, you will be able to video chat in HD 720p quality with most major instant messaging services. I decided to test it on Skype, but have plans to check into YouTube soon.

Installing the webcam was easy, I just followed the instructions as they came up on the monitor. Although the adjustable bracket seems to have been designed for a specific model of computer monitor, I secured it to mine with a little electrical tape. The wide-angle lens delivers amazingly clear image quality and, according to the box, captures 25% more in the frame. Even in low- light, my image is bright.

My friend commented on the microphone (extremely sensitive let him hear dogs barking in the neighborhood) and we couldn't get over the image quality. With one little lamp in the room, my image looked highly illuminated. He, on the other hand, had a lamp on right next to him and still looked like he was Skyping by firelight in a cave.

I move around a lot when I talk and gesture with my hands and every so often the camera would seem to blur. And then, the image would sharpen automatically. It took a few seconds for it to adjust, but the image became crystal clear. With a click of the button, you can also take stills.
While, I consider the many ways I can make use of this camera and software package, my friend is so impressed, he's going to get one too.

30.8.11

L.A. Mental

Seemingly unrelated events would have gone right by Dr. Thomas Crandall if he hadn't received a phone call from his party boy brother, Nick, in the middle of the night. Tom rushes to his aid but Nick is acting more than just a little strange. Soon Tom finds himself in the middle of a bizarre scuffle with Nick who is alternately angry and rubbing his head.
"There are worms eating my brain!" he says, then drops like a stone. Tom has to find a way to save Nick from whatever is going on in his head.
Tom finds some evidence of drugs, but the test results he gets back are not what he expected. His concern takes him back to his family and soon he realizes everyone of them has a little secret.
His brother Paul had allowed a film crew to build a strange looking set on one of their properties, with an odd scientist turned movie producer and a company called Parallax. When one of the actresses takes a liking to Tom, he wonders how all the pieces fit together.

This exciting story has been one of my best summer reads. Neil McMahon has co-authored with the prolific James Patterson and this novel has all the makings of a number one best seller. It had me guessing every inch of the way to its surprising conclusion. If you enjoy thrilles you will enjoy this up and coming author. And if you're like me, you will be waiting anxiously for his next novel.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

13.8.11

Confused to Clear in 60 Minutes

I had invested in a software program called Final Draft about four years ago. It seemed to be somewhat of an industry standard, or so I thought when I got it. It did what I needed it to do. Having never produced an actual film with it, I didn't really know what others thought of it.
When I joined a film makers group, they were ga-ga over Celtx (pronounced Kel-tx) the attractiveness of it that it could be downloaded off the Internet for free and several people were already familiar with it.

I didn't like the idea of having purchased software I wasn't going to be using, but promised I would learn it and switch. I continued writing scripts in FD while minimally dabbling in Celtx. In fact, I had gone so far as to download it, look around, get intimidated and re-open Final Draft. Then, I found Mastering Celtx The Official Guide written by Terry Borst. It seemed to be the needed nudge toward keeping my promise.

The Official Guide is over 300 pages, laid out like a course book, with images of what your computer screen should look like as he takes you step by step thought each feature of the program. I decided to go with it and popped open a window and followed along. It was straight forward and easy to work with.
They explained how to import a screenplay from Final Draft, which I tried. I imported a text document and a text with formatting document. The straight text version imported a lump of text that needed to be untangled line by line. The latter turned out to be the better choice. The first half-page needed to be tweaked to fit the formatting, but amazingly, the rest of it fell right into place. The smoothest import I've experienced so far.

This book is going to become part of my permanent library of reference material and I highly recommend this book if you are using this program. It is clear, concise and I wouldn't be with out it. I went from not understanding too much of the program to complete understanding in less than an hour. Well done, Terry!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the AmazonVine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

11.8.11

Belkin 7-Port Powered Desktop Hub

Dilemma: You have 2 USB ports and five pieces of equipment that need them, simultaneously.  You need to transfer data between them, and would like to have access to all of them at the same time.
Solution: The Belkin 7-Port Powered Hub. It comes with a power adapter and the USB 2.0 cable and the hub. All of the components are compact, and fit right in my computer bag.
We had planned a vacation and were able to download photos from the camera, upload music from the net into the cell phone and the MP3player, store all of it on a data stick easily and interchangeably on the screen. Although it didn’t charge my cell phone, it did charge the MP3 player and a solar charger that we use as a backup energy source if the charge runs low on cell phones or music players.
Even though my current laptop has three USB ports, one is always plugged with the power booster. Additionally, I’m considering something much more portable like a net book, and with extra ports available simultaneously, it will make the transition less painful.
The hub design is slim and sturdy. It doesn’t need a light, but I thought it might be nice to have one so you know it’s working. I notice that all the jump drives,  and power cords have them now.
But the speed at which we were able to complete our downloads and uploads made writing on the go that much easier. I will be recommending it to my friends and making sure they don't snag mine!

9.8.11

You Were Born For This

Maybe you’ve read The Prayer of Jabez and Secrets of the Vine. I like Bruce Wilkinson easy to follow approach and his accessible perspective. Certain books of his seem to appear at the times in my life when I start thinking, is this all there is? You Were Born for This is that book.
Have you been missing signals from Heaven? How would you like to learn the 7 keys to a life filled with predictable miracles?
Maybe you’ve been the recipient of a miracle. Someone you didn’t know, reawakened a dream? Gave you financial provision when you needed it most? Helped you forgive so you could be set free from torment?
I have to admit, that the role of Miracle Deliverer is one that I never would have imagined that I was born for. Would you like to tune into God’s plan and do more of it? This book will show you how to read the signals that God is sending and lead you step by step to delivering a miracle that will be life changing.
The book is important more now than ever. Almost everyone is looking for a leg up, encouragement, financial provision or a touch from God. You will learn how to know who is in need of a miracle, and the kind of miracle God wants to deliver. In you, there is a divine calling to be the miracle deliverer, too. I challenge you to pick up a copy of this book and see if it doesn’t change your perspective, and the world, one person at a time.




For more about this go to http://www.youwerebornforthis.com/


An electronic copy of this book was provided to me by Eidelweiss Above the Tree Line in exchange for my  honest opinion.

28.7.11

Spice up Your Summer!

Even in the middle of a heat wave, I love heat: hot sun, spicy food, cayenne, ginger, and jalapenos. So when I saw that Taco Bell had released Bold & Creamy Jalapeno Sauce, I was anxious to try it. They eye pleasing pastel green color with flecks of Jalapeno, hints at the kick to come. The sauce base tastes slightly mayonnaise and pours with the consistency of good ranch dressing. It is not runny the way Tabasco sauces are, it stays where you put it. The jalapeno bite is relatively mild, but definitely there. My mouth tingled a good ten minutes after, and never became overbearing.It didn’t induce perspiration, cause eye watering or make my head feel as though the top if needed to come off to release the heat. It was pleasantly spicy. I put mine on my breakfast egg wrap and loved every bite.
Taco Bell left themselves some room here to increase heat levels (bold, bolder and boldest ever). As far as heat comparisons, I’d say it’s probably in the family with Louisiana Hot Sauce or Red Hot.

My family likes adding Ranch dressing to Cajun Rice; Bold & Creamy will be an exciting addition. This sauce is creamy enough to get away with using as a salad dressing or veggie dip. If you want to try a finishing sauce with a little kick over grilled chicken, I highly recommend this one and will be telling all my spice loving friends about it. Who knows, even the fearful ones may try this. It could lead to more spice in your life!

24.7.11

Sell Your Own &@%^ Movie!

Sell Your Own Damn Movie!Customer review from the Amazon Vine™ Program (What's this?)
I started reading Sell Your Own Damn Movie by Lloyd Kaufman and had a difficult time getting through it. Even if it's intended to be tongue in cheek, the adolescent humor, f-bombs and obsessive sexual references were tiresome and got in the way of the supposed point of the book:how to sell your independent film.

As I read, the book seemed largely to be a mind-numbing, shameless plug for Lloyd Kaufman's company, Troma Entertainment, which has been around 40 years. As far as information about how to sell your movie, the interviews with indie film producers like Nina Paley (Sita Sings the Blues) Mynette Louie, producer and Tze Chun writer/director (Children of Invention) and others were worth reading.

The book isn't without its good points, for me there weren't enough of them to justify the cost of the book. While it is noteworthy that Kaufman and his company have been around longer than most Hollywood marriages, my copy of Sell Your Own Damn Movie will not be. It literally came unbound at page 175 while I read it. If you are looking to sell your own movie, you may be better off to look elsewhere for how best to accomplish it.
2 out of  5 stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

19.7.11

Fallen by Karin Slaughter

Fallen is my first Karin Slaughter novel. I have recently become a big fan of audio discs to help pass drive time. This story was read by Shannon Cochran, who gave a wonderful performance giving each character a different accent, cadence or tone. It really mirrored the sort of people I would expect to find in Georgia, (where I have relatives) so as soon as they started talking, I felt right at home.(Find more of Shannon's work on Amazon)

Most of us expect life to maintain the status quo. If we drop our kids off at mom's, then we expect to find them there, relatively intact, when we come to pick them up. But Faith Mitchell, an agent of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation found instead, her mother and baby daughter Emma missing, a ransacked house, a lot of blood and after an altercation with armed men, even more questions.

It sounds like an event that should never have happened, especially if your mother is Evelyn Mitchell, an ex-cop. Faith tracks one man from the crime scene, but even while she pins him to the ground and screams to know the whereabouts of her mother, he is bleeding out, refusing to tell her anything useful.

After Emma is found, safely tucked in the garage, I was able to relax enough to run with this fast paced novel. I enjoyed the character reflections that helped me flesh out who they were, how Faith Mitchell came to be a single mother, not once, but twice, and how her partner Will Trent came to be a little backward in relationships. By the time the characters were answering who did this and what did they want? and fitting all the pieces together, I still had no idea how this would all turn out. Because it kept me guessing, it kept me reading.

I give this book five stars because it was a great story, even though I'll back track and begin with the first book, I think this was a fine novel based on its own merits.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this DVD free through the Amazon Vine Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

15.7.11

Thick as Thieves

Thick as Thieves by Peter Spiegelman

When this book showed up at my door and I saw the page count of 295 I groaned. I didn’t remember ordering the book, and wasn’t quite sure I was ready for it. After putting on my sunning clothes, pouring an iced-tea then grabbing my mp3 player, I reluctantly picked up the novel that Lee Childs called “slick, sophisticated and satisfying” and set out to lounge in the chaise.
My plan was to read the first chapter, close my eyes and listen to music while napping in the afternoon sun. It was the phrase at the end of the first sentence… "Carr hears voices in the walls." that reached out like a tentacle and grabbed hold of my imagination. The next thing I knew, my skin was slightly burnt, my ice tea was empty and I was closing the book on chapter ten. I felt like I was in the middle of the tropical heat they were experiencing in Miami.

While I went about my day, I couldn’t stop thinking about Carr, Latin Mike, Bobby Dennis and haunted by Val. I wonderer what Carr was going to do about his father, and this team—that didn’t seem quite loyal—that he’d just begun to lead on the Prader job.
I fell in love with the story. I’d read a few chapters and stop intentionally to see if I could figure out how things would play out. In this way, the story seemed more real, more surprising ( I was wrong about the way it went) that reading it straight through. I savored that story as much as I could.

Even as the chapters wound down, and I was desperate to see how it all turned out,  didn’t want the story to end. If you like intelligent thrillers that always keep you guessing, Spielgelman’s Thick as Thieves won’t disappoint.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

28.6.11

Morgan Bramlet Does it Again!


Genexus is a novel about an event that could be closer than many of us would be comfortable thinking about: Genetically engineered super humans.

I was just going to skim the first chapter, but this story gripped me and wouldn’t let go.

Although parts of the book read a bit like an athletic achievement report, it set the tone for how superior the six subjects in “D” series were, and made them more accessible.

I connected more with Jamie and Athena, the characters who wanted to help the "D" series children: Demetri, Derek Daniela, Diana David and Dominique. The kids are slated to be euthanized, having been raised for information in a state of the art high-security environment. But they're more like junior scientists at VanGen Biotechnology Corporation, than masterminds of corporate espionage. Could they really pull off kidnapping the company's most top secret investments? Six noticeably strange-looking ten-year olds?

This story had me guessing to the end, and I had to keep reading to see how far they'd get and what would happen next. The twists and turns did not fail to surprise.

This story has all the makings of a major motion picture. But until then, pick up a copy of this book and enjoy the ride. Incidentally, if you take it on vacation for a summer read, make sure you apply plenty of sun protection. Once you start reading it, you won’t want to stop.

16.6.11

Big Taste In The Small Kitchen

Having recently downsized my life, and moved to smaller quarters, In the Small Kitchen was a fresh perspective on cooking. Written by two ladies who have been friends since 7th grade, their delightful and eclectic stories are sprinkled through out along with mouthwatering photos of their delectable dishes. Together, Cara Eisenpress and Phoebe Lapine brighten what could be considered a mundane daily chore.

I think there's at least one recipe for everyone in this book, from Vegan to Carnivore. I found one in every chapter. The recipe for "noodles with bgsk peanut sauce" and "soy-honey baked tofu" were wonderful.

Along with social rules of engagement, tenets of byob and a year's worth of occasion for which to cook or have dinner parties, you will be well equipped to make delicious meals. This book is great for the off-campus college bound student, your new graduate, newly weds or anyone who has a small kitchen. The recipes are easy to follow but the reults are pleasantly exotic. The ingredients are easy to find just about anywhere (they are based in New York).

There are recipes for the solo or the sharer (up to ten people.) I love this book!


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

Who Will Remember?


 

Who Will Remember from Lindsey Leanne on Vimeo.


Kudos to Lindsey Jones and her film crew for producing this amazing video based on the essay, Ghost of Christmas Past. I really like the way they updated the theme and made it more relevant. Great cinematograhy and staging. Congratulations!

7.6.11

Energized by Amino Energy

I've been working out for years but had slacked in recent months. I was looking for a way to kick-start a new work out routine when I saw this product and decided to give it a shot. I mostly do Pilates and Jillian Michaels with a bit of Core Rythms thrown in.

What I liked about it right away was there was no sugar or aspartame in it. It tasted great, even though I am not a fan of grape-flavored anything. I liked that you could add it to water, not juice. The Concorde Grape flavor was a pleasing shade of purple even with only 1 scoop and tastes distinctly grape without tasting watered down. When using 2 scoops in a 20 oz. bottle of water it tasted stronger, but not cloying or over-sweet. It dissolves quickly, and doesn't get lumpy in the bottom of a bottle (some other products needed more dissolving time.)

I notice when I drink it I am not so hungry even hours after working out. If I drink it half an hour before an afternoon workout I feel ready to go the distance. I also have more energy for the routine. Mentally, I feel sharper. I've been at it for just over a week and already notice a difference in the way my body looks and the way I feel. I can't wait to try the other flavors too, and would recommend this product to all my work out buddies.

Amazon Vine™ is a program that enables a select group of Amazon customers to post opinions about new and pre-release items to help their fellow customers make educated purchase decisions. Customers are invited to become Amazon Vine™ Voices based on the trust they have earned in the Amazon community for writing accurate and insightful reviews. Amazon provides Amazon Vine™ members with free copies of products that have been submitted to the program by vendors. Amazon does not influence the opinions of Amazon Vine™ members, nor do we modify or edit their reviews.

4.6.11

The Dumpster by Becky Due

As I started reading The Dumpster by author Becky Due, I couldn’t imagine how I was going to get through it. I am not a fan of Romance Novels and thought this was going to be one long painful read. I also prefer actual books to electronic readers and was not looking forward to the prospect of reading an electronic version.

The main character, Nicole, is just a little bit quirky, obssessive and slightly insecure. I liked that she wasn’t a blonde-haired blue-eyed beauty queen with everything going her way. When her new love interest furnished her with a cheap DVD player bailed on her by DVD, the story got a little more interesting. It certainly was a twist on getting dumped.

The dumpster really hooked me too, what it brought, what it took, what Nicole found there and what Nicole threw into it. I found myself laughing out loud and thinking about the characters. What was going to happen next? Before I knew it, I was halfway through the book. It seemed more of a romantic comedy than a romance novel. Once I stopped resisting, I got pulled into the story and really enjoyed it. I would recommend this light hearted book as a fast summer beach read.

Find out more about this author here: BECKY

I was given an electronic version of this book by the author in exchange for my honest opinion and a 5$ Starbucks gift card.

26.5.11

Dr. Morgan Sierra is surprised by a late-night meeting with research assistant, Matthew Fry. Fry intends to take her back to the US for a project arranged by Dr. Everett. As an unwitting keeper of one Apostle stone, she finds herself in the middle of questions surrounding it, and its potential power when reunited with the other eleven stones.

Before their meeting properly adjourns, Sierra and Fry become the target of Thanatos, a group who wants her stone. They’re willing to take it be whatever force necessary. Because of her training in the Israeli Defense Force, she is not faint hearted, but a pistol-packing femme fatale who trusts few individuals. She and Fry blast their way out and escape.
Intuitively, Morgan fears for her twin sister's safety, knowing that she too carried one of the stones. When Morgan discovers her sister and baby niece are missing, Morgan finds herself embroiled in a search for the other stones to save their lives.
Although the story is set in modern times, it takes the reader on a whirlwind tour of the Mediterranean Region. While the story leans on Church history, Penn keeps the reader turning the pages.
I enjoyed this Pentecost immensely and think it reads like watching a movie. I can’t wait to see if Penn continues the adventures of Morgan Sierra. In the days ahead, look forward to reading more from this author.



8.5.11

Do You Know Abby?

Because not everything we do is scripted,
we are free to choose and make decisions
that have lasting repercussions in our lives
and the lives of others....





When the Director of Planned Parenthood quit her job, even given the national climate of the job market, it shouldn't have made national news. But it was the reason that she left that caused her to switch teams. And that choice made Abby Johnson a hero for the pro-life movement and an enemy of Planned Parenthood.

Every woman in America knows someone who's had an abortion. They are our sisters, mothers, daughters friends. They're our girlfriends, our wives, aunts and cousins It is not limited to race, religion or social standing. It is a heart-rending decision not easily made, that affects all of us for the rest of our lives.

The documentary of Abby Johnson had me spell bound to the end. The statements from her parents, really affected me.

At 23, I found myself in the middle of an unplanned pregnancy. By then, Roe v Wade was a decade old and women had a right to choose. Although I chose to carry to term and relinquish the child for adoption, it was not very popular among women who thought I was a slave to convention. Through the telling of my story over the years, I met many women along the way who regretted their decisions and were pained by them years, even decades afterward.
If you want to know the truth, you want to see this documentary about Abby's life, how she arrived in Planned Parenthood and became a champion for women.You'll hear what she discovered in a clinic that caused her radical decision to quit and change sides.

If you have daughters, nieces or sisters, tell then about this upcoming free webcast. The Unite for LIFE webcast is free, featuring Abby Johnson and will benefit pregnancy care organizations. You can sign up to participate on May 17 at 8:00 p.m. (in all time zones) at http://www.uniteforlifewebcast.org/. Unplanned the book and the DVD will be available for purchase as a package deal and 33% of each purchase will go to crisis pregnancy centers like CareNet, the National Institute of Family & Life Advocates, and Heartbeat International.
If you want to be in a drawing to win a voucher for a free copy, comment below and I will draw two names. The message is so important, I will throw my copy into the drawing.

No matter where you land on this topic, I do not judge you or your choice. I believe that to make such an enormous decision, one needs to be informed of all the facts. The choice is still yours to make.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this DVD free through Tyndale publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

18.4.11

What Questions Would You Ask Max?



How great would it be to sit down with Max Lucado and ask the tough questions about life, and get his take? Initially, I thought the book would be for people new in their faith walk, or new Christians who hadn’t gotten around to translating the Bible into practical steps for daily living. But Max has a real understanding of what the word of God says and how it should be played out in our daily life. I bet a guy who’s been in ministry and written over 50 books would have a lot to say on just about any topic you throw at him:

~ “I really dread going home for the holidays…”

~ “I’d like to slow down and simplify my life…”

~ “Are the commandments in the Bible archaic?”

I found Max’s biblically based explanations easy to understand and accessible. (Notice, I didn’t say easy.) You don’t have to sit down and read through all the chapters to get nuggets of truth. You can choose from one of the 7 and read as much or as little as you like. The questions were an attention-grabbing mix from simple to complex, and his answers were thoughtful, inspired and sometimes even lighthearted. (Life isn’t all evil and darkness.)

He answers over 150 questions in this book, categorized by subject. Need Hope? Been Hurt? Need Help? He’s got answers for you. He maintains a positive spin, and it neither harsh nor condemning, which kept me reading. This book isn’t asking just the simple question, but also the hard-hitting ones:

~ “How do I forgive my son-in-law now that he’s broken my daughter’s heart?”

~ “What’s the big deal about pornography?”
~ “Does God hate homosexuals?”  (Answer 100 was one of the longest in the book.)

Chances are, there’s at least one question in here you have asked aloud. I was surprised to find that I wasn’t the only one asking the question, and Max gave me new lines to think along. A fresh perspective. So if you’ve got questions, you might take a look at Max on Life.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze a book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

5.4.11

The Adjustment Bureau

I saw The Adjustment Bureau movie trailer only recently and really wanted to hear more. When I found the audio book, only then did I discover it was a Classic Paranoid Story by science fiction author, Philip K. Dick. I had to get it. With an hour drive time everyday, I was hoping it would be a longer story, but found it entirely entertaining.

When this curious tale began with a Clerk talking to a dog about upcoming changes to sector T137, I wondered, where is this going? But when the dog answered him, I had to see what happened next. I down loaded the disc to my MP3 player and listened to it on my way to work.

The story takes place in the day of Ed Fletcher, a real estate agent. All appears to be typical until the sun winks out, and Ed finds himself in world made of grey ash. What happens after that, will have you pondering the subtle changes in your own surroundings for days, possibly years.

Phil Gigante’s excellent performance gave a distinctive voice, tone and cadence to each character, making it easy to follow them through the hour-long drama.

The quality of this recording by Brilliance Audio was clear with Gigante maintaining a consistent volume and no distracting background noises. (In some other audio books I’ve heard cocks crowing and children and those elements weren’t part of the story.) Gigante’s spectacular enunciation kept me tracking with the story to its surprising conclusion. If you enjoy audio books, make time for this one.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this audio book free through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

2.4.11

I Love Sugar Free Candy!

 Ever since I began getting headaches from regular candy, I've been searching for high-flavor sugar-free candy. So much of it seems to start out well then bite you back with a nasty aftertaste. I discovered too, that aspartame was also not good for me, so the search began for candy made with Splenda.

This package of Crystal Light Chewy Candy contained strawberry, raspberry orange and lemon. They were square like Starburst, but not quite as intense or as tart, which was a little bit of a let down. The berry flavors were tasty, as was the orange. My favorite flavor was the lemon.

I've been a fan of Sorbee hard candies because they have a great taste and texture and no bitter aftertaste, or any kind of head pain. I was thrilled to find chewy candy!

If you aren't used to eating sorbitol based candy, however, they are slightly laxative, so you should try to limit yourself to no more than six in a day. The more often you enjoy this type of confection, the less if seems to have that effect. I live with a diabetic who enjoyed the texture and taste of the chews as much as I did, and no spike in sugar numbers was definitely a plus. I would like to see a blend of tropical flavors.

I recommend this to anyone trying to watch calorie intake, sugar levels and it also has an exchange for those on Weight Watchers. I loved them and will be getting more soon!


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this product free through the Amazon Vine program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 product

24.2.11

How Would You Like to Live in Victory?

Thirty One Days of Power
Learning to Live in Spiritual Victory

by Ruth Myers with Warren Myers

The world is a messy place these days. The stress of getting through a “normal” day seems to escalate. Traffic jams, calamities, disasters, people losing their livelihood and homes, crime, war... The worries seem to multiply and the world seems an increasingly dangerous place to live.

Are you really living? Or just surviving? At the end of a typical day, you might feel like you haven't any power left. Even though most Christians understand that Satan seeks to destroy our lives and souls, it seems not quite as many know how to fight this centuries old battle.

Wouldn't it be nice to rise above the turmoil of the day and enjoy some measure of real peace? How would you like to take a deep breath and be refreshed? Where can you plug into a major power source to be re-energized?

My husband and I began reading Ruth Myers book, Learning to Live in Spiritual Victory in morning over breakfast before leaving for work. The verses feel like a cup of hot tea with a friend, warming and comforting. They began positively affecting me from the beginning of chapter one: “Father in heaven, I lift up my heart to You... “

Instead of magnifying the problems, the daily prayers and praises of this devotional point to the answer: Almighty God. I read each prayer, weighing it in my heart, reminded that God is in control and far more worthy of my attention. He is ever present, waiting for me to call upon Him.

Since we began reading the book, I sleep better at night, feel closer to God and don't worry as much. When I begin feeling anxious, I go back to reread the devotion for that day. As I draw near to end of the book, I feel as though I have put on the armor of God, equipped to live in spiritual victory.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Multnomah book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

30.1.11

Power Based LIfe

 As I read through the table of contents to The Power Based Life by Mike Flynt, each one of the chapter headings seemed more interesting than the first. I was surprised by the first one, that talked about playing to your strengths. How different my life could have been if I had known that was even acceptable.

As I progressed through the book, some of it was less interesting to me particularly because I am not what you would consider an athlete. I’m not really into sports of any kind and struggle to maintain a work-out schedule. However, as I read, I felt encouraged to rethink some of my strategies and attitudes about my personal physical fitness, particularly after reading Sow in Health, Reap a Longer Life. Far too often I hear elderly people saying, “If I had known I was going to be around this long, I would have taken better care of myself.”

I feel like Mike’s book is a sort of physical, mental and spiritual fitness guide. I think there are principles and concepts in this book that could help anyone willing to apply them. The book was an easy read, upbeat and encouraging. He never beats anyone over the head with shoulds or oughts. His biblical references seemed to be in line with the word as I have understood it.

I found the book a little tough to get into at first because of all the sport analogies, but if you have an athlete on your hands, this would be a good choice. In spite of my lukewarm appreciation of sport, I thought the fitness aspects he covered were not only worth reading, but worth sharing.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255